Welcome to MSC, this site is screen reader friendly.

  • Help
    • 1-800-645-7270
    • Live Chat
    • Help Center
    • About Us
  • Cart
Help

24/7 Customer Care

  • 1-800-645-7270
  • Live Chat
  • Help Center
  • About Us

Getting Started with Order Approval

To access the Order Approval business solution, please log in with an Administrator account* and navigate to the My Account section.

Click on "Order Approval Management" in the left navigation bar. From here you can set up permissions, spend limits and workflow assignments for all registered website contacts.

* Note: Administrator access is required to set up this functionality. Please contact our eCommerce customer support team at 800-753-7970 or customercare@mscdirect.com if you need to have Administrator access established for your account.

Editing a User's Permissions, Spend Limit and Workflow Assignments

In the Order Approval Management table, find the column labeled Action and select the gear icon for the user profile you want to edit. Click on "Edit user profile" to:

  • Check (or uncheck) Approver status which will allow (or not allow) a user to approve orders.
  • Set a spend limit so he/she can place orders up to a predetermined dollar amount OR select the No spend limit checkbox to give this user unlimited spend.
  • Set up workflow assignments by selecting from a list of approvers. You can select up to 10 approvers making this solution customizable for your company's needs.

Alternately, you can elect to make a user an Admin, thereby giving them the same permissions you have. Within Order Approval they have approval authorization on any order, unlimited spend, no workflow assignment and the ability to add and delete users. Order Approval Guide

Deleting a User

In the Order Approval Management table, navigate to the column labeled Action and select the gear icon for the user profile you want to delete. Deleting a user will deactivate their web account and can only be undone by calling Customer Care.

If the user you are deleting has outstanding carts awaiting approval, we will do a check and prompt you to reassign the pending carts to yourself or another approver.

Editing or Deleting Multiple Users at one time

Use the check boxes to select the users you want to edit or delete. Choose your desired action from the Bulk Action menu and follow the prompts.

Adding New Users

In the Order Approval Management table, navigate to the Manage Users dropdown and select "Add new user."

Depending on your preference, you can either send an email inviting the user to set up their own account OR you can set up an account for them by entering their name and email address.

Send a registration request to new users
Register new users yourself

IN THE KNOW

Order Approval management comes preloaded with default settings that will get applied to all new users. You can edit these settings via the Add new user dialog box to set your own default permissions, spend limit and workflow assignments.

Using Order Approval

Now that you are set up, your team can start using Order Aprpoval to submit and approve carts.

Submitting a Cart

From their shopping cart, a requisitioner can submit their cart via Order Approval by adding an optional note to the buyer and clicking the "Send to Buyer" button.

The requisitioner will receive a confirmation page with the details of his/her submitted cart along with a link to view their submitted carts.

Checking the Status of a Submitted Cart

When a requisitioner submits a cart for approval, they can view the status of their request by navigating to the My Account area and clicking on "My Submitted Carts" in the left navigation.

On this page, the requisitioner can act on carts with a status of pending or rejected by navigating to the column labeled Action and selecting the gear icon for the cart they want to act on.

For a cart with a PENDING status, you can:

  • Send an email reminder to the approver
  • Resubmit the cart to a different approver
  • Withdraw the cart from the approver

For a cart with a REJECTED status, you can:

  • Edit the cart and resubmit for approval
  • Delete the cart

Your cart will show a status of APPROVED once the buyer adds your requested items to his/her cart for purchase. If the buyer has only approved part of your request, you will see a partial approved status. You can then expand the cart contents to see which items have been approved.

Approving a Pending Cart

A buyer can view all carts submitted to him/her by navigating to the My Account area and clicking on "Pending My Approval" in the left navigation. On this page, the buyer can approve a pending cart, reassign it to another buyer or reject the cart back to the requisitioner by selecting the gear icon for the cart they want to act on.

If the buyer does not want to approve the entire cart, he/she can individually choose which items to approve by expanding the cart contents and checking the items they wish to move to their active shopping cart.

Approver Out of Office Setting

If an approver will be out of the office, he/she can simply turn on their Out of Office setting to notify requisitioners that they are currently unavailable to approve carts. However, if the requisitioner chooses to submit a cart anyway, it will still go through to the out of office approver.